Oulipost Exit Interview-Oulipost Ends Where the Work Begins

Question 1:
What happened during the Oulipost that you didn’t expect:

I think the most unexpected thing that happened was the marvelous community that grew up around this “thing” that we were doing. Sharing stories, sharing poems, jokes, and pieces of ourselves was a great experience for me. And of course the writing. I will never look at a newspaper the same way again, ever. Suddenly, its articles are to be mined, for brilliant words and phrases, for an odd turn of a phrase, for unexpected illuminations of thoughts and new ideas. I loved it all.

Question 3:
What does your street look like?

I live smack dab in the middle of a city of about a million people, and my neighborhood is one of many little urban neighborhoods, modest older homes, tree-lined streets, a small triangular-shaped park down the street, a mix of young and old, all persuasions, a patchwork quilt of people!

Question 4:
Who is your Spirit Oulipostian?

I feel like I have many spirits circling the skies above me: Sonja Johanson, Douglas Louman (young god of all thing technological), Margo Ruby, and Amanda Earl, Winston Plowes, Nancy Chen Long, Lylanne Musselman. They all offered something to me during this enchanted time spent writing and posting, and I’m grateful. And there are many others flying in this same sky.

Question 5:
What are the top three poems you wrote during this project?

I have strong feelings for four, actually, but I’ll post three, in the spirit of fairness, and toeing the line:
Oulipost #30-Patchwork Quilt
https://masexson.wordpress.com/2014/05/01/oulipost-30-patchwork-quilt
Oulipost #17-Haikuiksation
https://masexson.wordpress.com/2014/04/17/oulipost-17-haikuisation
Oulipost #8-Beautiful Inlaw
https://masexson.wordpress.com/2014/04/08/oulipost-8-beautiful-inlaw

Question 2:
What questions do you have for your teaspoons? What questions do your teaspoons have for you?

My teaspoons are at an impasse with me, having been “outscooped” on this fabulous “Oulipost” project!

Question 6:
What will you do next?

This will be a hard act to follow. The richness of the daily writing challenges, and what they did for my writing mojo, I think I have to just keep writing, right? This project has succeeded in doing what I call “busting my chops”. Nothing I took for granted about writing has not been challenged on some level this month, in more ways than good. So I figure the best way to say “thank you” is to write like my life depended on it.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy Chen Long
    May 03, 2014 @ 13:47:51

    Thank-you so much for listing me as a spirit Oulipostian, Mary! I enjoyed reading your work and am glad we had the chance to Oulipost together.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

